Education Begins in the Home

Education Begins in the Home

Education Begins in the Home has helped empower over 54,000 children by giving them books to encourage reading.

Education Begins in the Home has helped increase literacy in the Latino community by providing free access to books in an effort to support literacy.

  • We are currently present at more than 5 events every month.
  • We provide books to children and adults to encourage reading.

So PROUD of our organization - Education Begins in the Home.  May 31, 2018 will be our 3 year anniversary. This Friday, April 27, we will be at our 200th event, having given away 60,000 FREE books to the youth and families of North County San Diego. In addition, we have donated another 9000 FREE books to agencies requesting donations from us for their own events!!!! 

Edward Becerra

Upcoming Events

April/May events are as follows:

Thursday, April 26 Vista High School Cyber Awareness 5-8pm
 
Friday, April 27, Oak Hill Elementary, Escondido 7:30-9am
 
Friday, April 27, Farr Elementary, Escondido, 2nd grade lunch, 12-1pm
 
Monday, April 30 VAVPA Elementary, Vista 4-7:30pm
 
Wednesday, May 2 Lake Elementary, Vista 3-7pm
 
Thursday, May 3 Monte Vista Elementary, Vista 5-7pm
 
Tuesday, May 8 Fallbrook MAAC 5:30-6:30pm
 
Thursday, May 10 Glen Vista Elementary, 11:30-1pm
 
Friday, May 11, Rose Elementary 2nd grade 12-1:30pm
 
Friday, May 18, Rock Springs Elementary, 11:30-1pm
 
Saturday, May 19 Libby Lake Resource Faire 11-2pm
 
Friday, May 25 Orange Glen Elementary, Escondido 11-12:30pm
 
Wednesday, May 30 Pioneer Elementary, Escondido 11-12pm
 

Thursday, May 31, Fallbrook St. Elementary tba

In addition, the following are various meetings that EBH will participate in.

Wednesday, April 25 Crown Heights ‘Leer es Poder’ reading 1:15-2pm
 
Wednesday, April 25 North Coast Church sort & label party, 6:30-8:30pm
 
Thursday, April 26 OUSD Summer of Love Literacy meeting 1-2pm 
 
Saturday, April 28 Inland Empire Cal State San Bernardino Latino Book & Family Festival 10-5pm
 
Monday, May 7 Mira Costa College Latino Book & Family Festival planning meeting 4-6pm
 
Tuesday, May 8 Noche Mexicana planning meeting 4-5pm
 
Thursday, May 17 San Diego Council on Literacy, Eat Drink Read event SD 4-8pm
 
Monday, May 21 Oceanside Early CAN Network meeting 3-4:30pm
 
Wednesday, May 23 Sort & Label Party 6:30-8:30pm

Contact Us

Want to learn more? Email us:

Education Begins In The Home

Edward Becerra

760-681-9950

EducationBeginsInTheHome@gmail.com

 

 

Like Our Facebook page to receive updates on our program

Education Begins in the Home

About Us

Spirit of the Barrio